The Information Machine
ConcludedRan 1 dayin the edition since 16 Sep 20267 sourcesupdated 16 Sep 2026

OpenAI ChatGPT for Financial Services

The gist

Latest: OpenAI Launches ChatGPT for Financial Services on GPT-6 Astra

Financial institutions can access a curated set of licensed data sources through a single platform without managing separate MCP connectors or credentials. U.S. banking regulators are scrutinizing AI adoption in areas including data access, governance, third-party risk, and human oversight, according to VentureBeat.

When stories like this move, I write about them in an email each morning.

One free email each morning, around 8 AM US Eastern.

The full picture

ChatGPT for Financial Services is available to eligible financial institutions through OpenAI or existing account teams, with pricing and eligibility criteria not disclosed. The product is built on GPT-6 Astra and includes more than 50 connectors to financial-services providers including Datasite, Box, Preqin, FactSet, and Intapp, plus premium datasets from Daloopa, PitchBook, LSEG News, and Crunchbase hosted on OpenAI infrastructure. Entitlement integrations with S&P Capital IQ, LSEG, MSCI, Dow Jones Factiva, and Moody's let users access licensed data automatically through their ChatGPT credentials. OpenAI co-developed the product with Morgan Stanley and Evercore, focusing on investment banking and equity research where data access and artifact creation were identified as the biggest pain points. The broader GPT-6 Astra rollout prices API access at $10 per million input tokens and $50 per million output tokens, and rolls the model into existing Plus, Pro, Business, and Enterprise subscriptions.

How it developed
First in the edition · 16 September 2026
11 September 2026in the 16 Sep edition

September 15 reporting covered OpenAI's September 10 launch of ChatGPT for Financial Services, built on GPT-6 Astra with more than 50 connectors to providers including Datasite and FactSet, co-developed with Morgan Stanley and Evercore.

Follow-up coverage added that GPT-6 Astra's API is priced at $10 per million input tokens and $50 per million output tokens, with consumer plans from free to $200 per month for Pro, while noting OpenAI has not disclosed pricing or eligibility criteria for the vertical product.

Sources
2 more sources

Get the daily email

When stories like this move, I write about them in an email each morning.

One free email each morning, around 8 AM US Eastern.

See the latest edition · Privacy